14
Sep
09

Things I have Learned from my Toddler #2

It is that time again.  Time for another installment of Things I have Learned from my Toddler!!

It is interesting to me that as Monkey grows I begin to notice a lot of his quirks.  Unlucky for him, he seems to take after his Mama in that regard.  I am also amazed at how easily is it to communicate with him considering that really the only words he uses are “car” and “hey”.

For example, right now, while trying to type this blog on my laptop, he has apparently decided that he does not want me working on the laptop but yet paying attention to him while he watches Baby Crack Einstein.  The way he communicates this to me is to run up to me screaming and slam the lid of the laptop as hard as he can while my fingers narrowly escape sudden doom.  The he struts away proud of himself with a loud “UH!” as if to say “There!”  *shrug*

When he wants to tell me that he wants another Baby Crack Einstein movie, instead of saying simply, “Mama, another movie please.” he runs up to the TV and with full force slamming into it and then starts beating on it while pointing up to the DVD player.  He does this all while grunting like a caveman.  “UHH UHH UHH UHH!!!!”  And then god forbid you would put the movie in that he didn’t request, because then the screaming and grunting graduates to new levels and the TV begs you to get it right and stop the abuse.

Now don’t go thinking that I haven’t read all the baby and parenting books and consulted my pediatrician.  Because I have.  Several times.  Seriously!  And I know that I am supposed to say “use your words please” and try and get him to use those words before giving into him, but I tell you my TV was CRYING.  “Please, don’t let him beat on me anymore!! Pleeeeaaaaase!!”

What would you do?  Uh huh.

Actually this DVD thing is new because I typically don’t let him watch a lot of TV usually.  Just in the mornings and at night.  However, since he is feeling so under the weather lately and prefers to watch his DVD’s, I have been giving in a lot more.  And if that isn’t enough, the beating on the TV and grunting usually convinces me that he would rather be watching TV.

My poor TV.

Another thing I have learned recently is that somewhere around 19 months of age, my toddler will begin to refuse all food that is not chicken nuggets or fruit.  ALL food.  It doesn’t matter if yesterday it was his favorite food.  He won’t even TOUCH it.  Let alone put the evil not to be tasted food into his mouth.  I don’t know where he gets that from.  His father and I both eat pretty much everything.  Duh.  LOL

When your toddler comes running into the living room proud to present the prize he has found and places into your hand a bottle of flavored massage oil… it is time to get locks on the nightstand drawers in your bedroom.  *nod*  God forbid he would find anything else interesting in those drawers.  We just won’t go there.  Buy new locks? Check!

Photobucket

14 Responses to “Things I have Learned from my Toddler #2”


  1. September 14, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Oh, your poor TV. YOu must save it from such abuse!

    Six months from now, he’ll refuse to eat ANYTHING. Mark my words.

    And my kid woulda been DRINKING the massage oil.

  2. September 14, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Oh, the picky eating phase. It’s enough to drive me CRAZY! Mine are at 22 months, and I have to say I think it is getting slightly better. (I’m sure I just jinxed myself.) I just had to get to the point where I accept that, they will eat when they are hungry and I can’t give in to the pickiness. Otherwise I will be making 10 different things at every meal and that isn’t going to work for me:)

    • 4 Cass
      September 14, 2009 at 10:33 pm

      OMG Quick!!! Knock on wood!! lol

      Yeah that is what I have come to. Luckily I always have chicken nuggets on hand. I must make them every day! :O

  3. September 14, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    No wonder us mammas of toddlers are exhausted! I need to take a nap just after reading that post! Eek!

  4. September 14, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Cassi..you’re brilliant! I think you just solved the mystery of the whaaaaaaat? in the kitchen photo we saw! 😛 (though it was a little high..hmmm) lol

    • 8 Cass
      September 14, 2009 at 10:34 pm

      Omg! THAT is why it was in there!!! Now THAT is an idea!!! Until the cable man says to me “ummm… ma’am? is that what I THINK it is????” HAHAHA

  5. September 15, 2009 at 12:59 am

    To which you reply “I dunno…ask your girlfriend” Oh, snap! I’m terrible. I know. But I bet I made ya laugh! xoxo

  6. September 15, 2009 at 1:23 am

    LMAO – one of the funniest lines:

    “but I tell you my TV was CRYING. ‘Please, don’t let him beat on me anymore!! Pleeeeaaaaase!!'”

    I have a hard time relating, but I find these stories hilarious, nonetheless.. ;o)

    Especially the desire to need new locks on the nightstand… Important and useful tips…

  7. September 15, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Like your toddler, I too only eat chicken nuggets and fruit. Drives my husband crazy.


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

