05
Sep
09

FIVE years?!?! Wow!!!!

3650

Five years ago today, we stood on the Saint Vrain River in the gorgeous Rocky Mountains, before our family and friends, and made our vows. The same river that Chuck stood in and fished that morning before our wedding.

We had already been married for 9 months, but still wanted to have the beautiful wedding in the mountains.

Let me explain…

My step Dad, Jim, if you don’t already know, was ill with lung cancer.  It was nearing the end.  And we knew it.  I couldn’t bear the thought of him passing away and not knowing that Chuck, whom he loved and respected greatly, and I had been wed.  It was something he wanted to be part of and talked of it often.  He always dreamed of me finally finding a man that was respectful of me and that would love me unconditionally.  A good man.  One with high morals and good character.  I found all of those things in Chuck and Jim could not be more ecstatic.

When Chuck asked both my step Dad and my Dad for their blessing to marry me, they both were thrilled.  We originally planned to marry on 04/04/04 as four was and is both of our lucky numbers.  However, with Jim’s declining health, we decided to push it up.

Christmas Day, 2003, we announced to our family that we would be wed in the Douglas County Courthouse the following day.  We requested that Jim and my Mom be there as our witnesses.  It was our way of letting Jim know he wouldn’t have to worry about me anymore.

I don’t have any pictures of that on this computer but I so wish I did.  It was one of the best days ever.  The four of us went to the courthouse.  Me in a red Angora sweater and jeans, Chuck in a black shirt and jeans, in the cold December air.  We each held up our right hand and were sworn in and said I do.  As simple as it sounds, it was by far at that time, the happiest moment of my life.

So fast forward to a few months later.  We decided not to have the wedding in April because we just weren’t ready.  I was still grieving Jim’s death and it wasn’t the right time.

We went camping that July for 3 days.  It was rustic camping.  No bathrooms or anything.  Just the kind of camping I like.  On our way back, I needed a bathroom break.  BAD.  So we pulled into this tiny town looking for a pit stop.

We pulled into the Wild Basin Lodge and Restaurant (or so the sign said).  When we got inside, stinking to high heaven fresh from camping, they informed us that it was not a restaurant anymore, but now a Lodge and event center.

Well heck, we were planning a wedding, and I still had to pee!!!, so we would love to take a look around, of course! 🙂

We walked through the quaint wood lodge, which was nice, out onto the back terrace.  THAT is when we both were sold.  The view of the mountains in the backdrop and the flowing Saint Vrain river just feet from where we would say our “I do’s” was picturesque!  We booked the ONLY available date they had that year then and there.  September 5th.  Our luck, because it was a Sunday.  Which is what we wanted.  And not only was it a Sunday, but it was the Sunday before Labor Day.  Perfect!

Ok so I am rambling…But my point is this: Five years ago today we stood in our finest, me drunk out of my mind from nerves, Chuck looking gorgeous, and said “I do”.  It was awesome.

I could not have chose a more loving, caring, devoted husband.

IMG021

Happy Anniversary Baby!!

Have a great weekend everyone!!  Enjoy your three day weekend!


Photobucket

28 Responses to “FIVE years?!?! Wow!!!!”


  1. 1 Erika
    September 5, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Happy Anniversary Cas!

  2. 3 Paula
    September 5, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Congrautlations! You both look breathtakingly happy in those photographs.

  3. 5 Lisa
    September 5, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    This just made me cry my eyes out!!!! Congrats to you both!!!

    • 6 Cass
      September 6, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      Aww, Lis!! Don’t cry! All good thoughts. I wish you had been there!! I wish you both could have. You know who I mean. Love ya girl!

  4. September 5, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    What a lovely tribute! Happy Anniversary!

  5. September 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Happy Anniversary, hun! Hope you’ve had a wonderful day..and hope you have a wonderful night 😉

  6. September 5, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Oh, you look just beautiful in the pictures, and you both look so happy! What a gorgeous spot to be married!

    I love that your original was in a courthouse (mine too, lol…shotgun…but that’s my story) and that you did that for your stepdad. So beautiful. And then later you had a special day to celebrate! (me too…10 years and 3 kids later, but I finally got a dress and that “special day”) What a neat story!

    Happy Anniversary you guys!!!!

  7. 13 Denise
    September 6, 2009 at 12:18 am

    Awwwww….you both look beautiful. Double Congratulations (anniversary and pregnancy)…what a wonderful time for the 3 of you.

  8. September 6, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Happy Anniversary! When I first saw that pic I fell in love with our veil! So pretty.

    • 16 Cass
      September 6, 2009 at 12:17 pm

      It is a Mantilla! I wasn’t going to do a veil until they suggested I try the mantilla. Since I am Italian, I thought it was perfect. And I LOVED it! 🙂

  9. September 6, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    That is such a beautiful story!! Happy Anniversary! I agree with Midwest Mommy, your veil is absolutely stunning!

  10. September 6, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    What a beautiful story… Thank you for sharing it…

    You two look so drunkedly happy and bright and shiny!! How wonderful!

    And, rain – as in the first photo – is good luck on a wedding day.

    Me and my guy have a special number, so I know how that goes. I’m sorry that you couldn’t observe that day as your anniversary, is there a special significance to the 5th, or was it just the closest to a “4” that was available at the event place? (You don’t have to answer, I was just curious… and yes, I do check back…)

    • 20 Cass
      September 6, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      Thank you!

      Sept 5th was actually the only day that they had available for that year. So we took it. The date that is still the most important really is 12/26 when we went to the courthouse. 🙂 They are all important but that one kinda takes the proverbial cake. 😀

  11. September 7, 2009 at 1:03 am

    So sweet – I am big ol’ sucker for wedding photos and those are great ones. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

  12. September 7, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Well, that was incredibly touching! What a wonderful thing you did for your stepdad – and you definitely married a winner 😀

  13. September 7, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Happy Anniversary! My sister got married in the Rockies too. They took a justice of the peace up the side of a mountain though.


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

