20
Aug
09

Walkman Memories

My parents separated when I was 7.  So my little brother and I would trade holidays back and forth between them.

When I woke up on Christmas morning of 1985 on my Dad’s hide-a-bed couch in the living room, I rushed to the tree to see what he Santa had brought us.  He brought us a Nintendo (which was cooler than cool back then) but even better for me he brought a brand spanking new Walkman!!!

walkman

If you are too young to remember what a Walkman is, then lemme explain.  *sigh*

Back in the dinosaur days, before portable CD players, or iPods, or iPhones we had the beautiful creation that was the Walkman.  The Walkman played “Tapes”.  (Another dinosaur days invention.) This was big a deal back in the “olden” days because it meant that we could walk around with our Walkman and listen to our favorite tape with the cool headphones that were included.

Well I had wanted one of these awesome cool new inventions, but because of the expense didn’t hold out hope that I would get one.  But there under the tree was the most beautiful black Walkman I had ever seen.

Growing up music was always huge in our family.  Listening to James Taylor, Dan Fogelburg, Loggins and Messina, Steely Dan and I could go on for hours listing my favorites.  My dad played the guitar and my mom sang.  We always had music around us.  And because of that my brother and I both grew to love it.  I had a record player in my room when I was just 4 years old that I would listen to over and over.

So imagine my excitement when under the tree sat the gorgeous, now to be mine and only mine, Walkman!

Wrapped in red and green paper was a tiny square package next to the Walkman with a note

To: Cassie

From: Daddy

Inside was my first Heart Album…err tape.  Dog and Butterfly.  Oh that tape was played so much over and over and over again that one day it finally gave out and just snapped.  The tape inside had been used far too much for me to play it anymore.

dogandbutterfly

Here I sit, a couple *cough* years later and as I listen to this album on iTunes (haha) I am immediately transported to that morning sitting on my Dad’s couch, listening to Dog and Butterfly.

The good memories that I have from my childhood can make me weep just by thinking about them.  I had some rough times, sure.  But I had some really great times too.  My parents did what they could to make sure we knew we were loved and adored.  And it’s always the little things that stick out to me.  Tiny tokens of love that sitting here 24 (ouch) years later, make me think, “wow, they really, really love me.”

Photobucket

32 Responses to “Walkman Memories”


  1. August 20, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I had a shiny red Walkman with a strap you could wear CROSS BODY! Really! I loved that darn thing. I never left home without my Walkman. I still sometimes refer to my iPod as “where’s my Walkman?” then wonder why people look at me funny… 🙂

  2. August 20, 2009 at 8:26 am

    walkman’s were SO cool. I was also thinking of “back then” today….how lucky kids are today to have facebook and instant messanging to keep in touch with people rather than begging your mom for a stamp to mail a letter

    • 4 Cass
      August 20, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      I know. Wow! When I was a kid, computers were only used for writing book reports in the “computer room” at school! lol

  3. August 20, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Ooooh, a walkman. SUPER COOL. I remember my boombox and it was bright turquoise blue and had a gigantic antenna on top in case I wanted to listen to the Weekly Top 40 instead of my cassettes. I was in love!! Cool post and, of course, Why Ask Why is all yours. I can’t wait to see what your list looks like!

    • 6 Cass
      August 20, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      YAY! I will work on it for posting next week 🙂

      and boomboxes were awesome too! remember begging your mom to buy you 15,482 D batteries so you could use them? haha

  4. August 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Oh my gosh! I loved my walkman! Look at those headphones! I remember adjusting those babies on those metal wire things.

  5. August 20, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Hey, did you change outfits when I wasn’t looking?! Rearrange the furniture? The place looks different in here. Is it just the photo on the right? Maybe it’s just me…I can’t remember what the day is, let alone much else. Anyway, I like your new look. Or your old look if you haven’t changed a thing…..

  6. August 20, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I had a pink Walkman. I loved that thing. I even took it to college. Oops just dated myself a little. I understand the sheer joy of the small things that our kids will all talk for granted. Of course my parents say the same thing about me. LOL

  7. August 20, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

    That is all.

  8. August 20, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I like the new look…

    And, I loved my Walkmans… All of them… I loved being absorbed in the backseat in music when my parents were talking in the front and my sister was pushing my legs off the seat.

    Maybe that’s why we all love 80’s music so much – it was finally, finally portable..

    • 16 Cass
      August 20, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      Oh. My. Gawd! I think that MUST be why we were all so into the 80s music. But what explains the fashion?? 🙂 lol

  9. August 20, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Oh yes. I loved the walkmen. If you had one…you were cool. Though not now. Now you would be considered a dork.

  10. 19 sethe
    August 20, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    i still have my first walkman somewhere in one of my luggages with my 500 tapes hehe. and the still working nintendo (minus the games…that yes… was the coolest game back then).. Gosh I’m so old now. hehehhe! waaahhhh i’m a dork.. cause i only have a walkman and not ipod or those other mp3 player.. waaaah! LOL!

  11. August 21, 2009 at 12:17 am

    We listened to Elton John, Billy Joel, and the Beatles on …our reel to reel!!

  12. August 21, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Wow! You took me back. I remember my first walkman and my first tape (New Edition) too! I sometimes wonder if today’s technology will hold the same nostalgia for this generation. Somehow, I can’t picture today’s teens waxing poetic about their first iTunes download 15-20 years from now.

    p.s. thanks for stopping by my new blog and leaving congrats on the birth of my baby girl!

  13. August 21, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I missed out on the whole Walkman thing- and I don’t even have an i-POD yet. Yeah, I’m a real happenin’ blogger- not! 😉

  14. August 24, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I remember getting a walkman too. We never got a nintendo though, I think it was an Atari! That really dates me, lol!
    Toni

  15. August 24, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Ahhhh Cass, I still love the Dog & Butterfly album…Mistral Wind, A Lighter Touch, Straight On…great songs!!

  16. August 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Um, I still have a walkman:) I have a sweet ipod too, but I have a gigantic collection of books on tape, which I love, and they are actual tapes so I need the walkman to use them. When I can’t fall asleep I just pop a tape into the old dinosaur and I’m asleep in 5:)

    • 32 Cass
      August 25, 2009 at 12:12 am

      OMG, I used to LOVE LOVE LOVE books on tape!! I used to have a car with a tape deck and I would listen to books on tape while commuting to work. And then at lunch I would drive to a park to eat my packed lunch and listen to it while eating. I was working a lot of hours then and didn’t have time to read. I need to get some more of those books on… CD? Lol


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

