10
Jul
09

Cheese and Whine

No, I didn’t spell it wrong.  I meant WHINE, not Wine.

My son is a whiner.  Like… ohmygodshutupshutupshutup whining.  When he isn’t throwing a FULL.FLEDGED.TEMPER.TANTRUM because he didn’t get his way, he is whining.  The constant, “ehhh ehhhh mmmmm ehhhhh” is SOOOOO fingernails on the chalkboard for me.  I try not to freak out but inside my brain is screaming “SHUUUTTT UPPPP!!!!!!!!!”  And I just try to walk him through it.  What is the proper response?  Better yet, does anyone have SuperNanny’s cell phone number? *grin*

There are all scales of tantrums and whines in this house.  They can start for anything under the sun.  Like his car isn’t doing what he wants.  Or he didn’t want milk in his sippy cup, he wanted juice.  Or he wants to lay on his back not on his side.  Or he wants to run around the store instead of sit in the cart.  Or he wants to get out of the stroller and by get out he means “RIGHT THIS MINUTE!”.  Or he doesn’t want you to help him push the buttons on that toy and smacks you for trying.  You know the ones.

All in all… tantrums are just a means to an end.  The end being ATTENTION.  Here is where I am confused.  Do I just give in and give the attention when it is needed or do I ignore the issue and hope it he stops the ongoing “WAAAAAAAAAA”?

And if I chose to ignore it, then what do I do when he starts doing something like this….

While it was HILARIOUS (and oh so scary)… how do you deal with that?

8 Responses to “Cheese and Whine”


  1. 1 Sethe
    July 10, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    There are really some kids like that. Luckily mine are both an angels. I have a nephew, who’s 11 years old now, I tell you, when he was younger, he’d whine about everything. He’ll cry here and there, and if things doesnt go his way.You know at what age he stopped acting like that? 7 yrs old. Another case like that is my niece, she stopped at the age of 5. Same story like my goddaughters… but do you really want to know what made them change? A new baby in the house. That’s when they start to figure out, that it is high time to act like a big bro or big sis. That they instantly figure that on their own.

    Well, that’s just from my experience. With not just my niece and nephews… goddaughters (P.S. had 3 goddaughters who were just like that).

  2. 5 Mary
    July 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Maybe we should swap your whiner for my screamer for a day and then we’ll both feel lucky (for a couple hours, anyway) 😛

  3. 7 Amanda
    July 11, 2009 at 10:27 am

    First off let me just say good for you for being able to admit you feel this way sometimes. So many people think they have to be thrilled with their kid all the time to be a “good parent” but the fact is, screaming babies will drive you to drink somtimes LOL.

    The fact still remains that children cry and throw tantrums for attention, and the more they recieve the attention when they throw one, the more often they will do it because they know it “works”.

    Make a special effort to pay them extra attention when they are being good and quiet. They will soon learn that Mommy likes it when I play quietly and she will come play with me when I do. It is all about making associations with children. (Don’t take this the wrong way but this also works with dogs LOL.)

    I speak from experience on this one. I used to be that kid LOL. I knew that crying got my mom’s attention and I used it for everything from getting her to play with me to getting out of trouble.

    Positive behavior = positve reward…it’s as simple as that. I know in the beginning it will be hard to deal with, but they are fast learners, so hang in there Mom!!!


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

