09
Jul
09

All things must come to an end…

…even vacations!

We are home from Vacation!!  Yay!! And I didn’t kill anyone while we were gone! Double Yay! 

While I typically stress my-obsessive-self the F out, I instead chose to enjoy and sit back this vacation.  And when I say sit back and enjoy, I mean, I made 192387590182375 lists before we left of what I needed to do, buy, pack, and prepare… as well as every minuscule detail of the trip from driving to the airport the first day, to parking and walking into the house at the end of the trip.  Even though a lot of the planning was a bust and plans changed, my mind didn’t go crazy because I knew that there was hope we would get back to the list when the next bullet point was to be met.  Don’t laugh… yes I use bullet points… they are my friends.  J 

Those of you who have known me a while, know that we used to live in Wisconsin off and on for about 3 years.  Living on the lake is something that Chuck and I miss daily.  Our life was simple and the landscape was beautiful.  I used to drive around just so I could look at the land and soak in its beauty.  Living there is what made me fall in love with photography.  I wanted to capture that beauty that I saw everywhere around me.  It was and will remain my favorite place. 

We decided a few months ago that we wanted to go back there for our 4th of July Vacation.  They always have great firework displays and it’s a good time of year to be there.  Chuck started trying to find a place to rent on the lake that we lived on and as luck would have it, the place we lived in for 2 years was available!  We loved that house so we booked it right away.

It was soooo neat to be back there.  I thought it would feel weird and that I would be like, “oh, I remember that!” or “wow, I totally forgot all about this!” but it was like we never left.  It felt like home again.  Which is something that Arkansas has never been for me.  It always just feels like a temporary spot.  Going back to Wisconsin felt right.  I wish we could move there.  Living in that town of 416 people would be heaven. 

Chuck’s sisters and their kids came down from Pittsburgh with my mother in law and some good friends of ours from St. Louis came up with their two boys.  We had 7 adults and 7 kids packed into that house and it didn’t even feel small!  We had a wonderful time.  It was so nice for Jimmy to spend time with his little cousins!  They are all growing so fast that we feel like we are missing those bonding times every day that they are apart.  Those days they spend together help grow relationships they will have always.  There are no words to explain how wonderful it is to see my son run to his 10 year old cousin and be scooped into her arms.  Watching him play with all of the kids and watching the next generation play makes me so happy.  I don’t even know how to explain it.  It was so wonderful.

All in all it was a good trip.  Yes, there were things that could have made it perfect, but oh well we will try for next time.  We have decided to make it an annual trip.  Every 4th of July we will be there.  On the water.  Soaking in the beauty.  Heaven.

4 Responses to “All things must come to an end…”


  1. July 10, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Awesome! Apparently, we’ve decided to make a 10 day jaunt to Costa Rica our annual trip… as I just booked our tickets last night 😉

  2. 2 bigmamacass
    July 10, 2009 at 10:55 am

    ouch… ok way to rub it in!! :O

  3. 3 Randi
    July 11, 2009 at 7:19 am

    That is so wonderful. I am so happy for you. It is about time you took a moment and relaxed. **wink**. That place is so beautiful. I had such a great time with you there… I hope to see you soon


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

