29
Dec
08

Eviction and hardship

I was driving home from shopping today, truck full of new toys, foods and clothes bought with the generous gift cards given by family and friends.  I was smiling listening to my son watch his movie on his DVD player.  It was then that I saw the most horrible thing.  I passed a home that was what I can only guess was in the process of eviction.  There were four men in gloves standing by this large mound by the curb.  I can only guess they had just finished carrying this family’s home out to place it there.  There sat a huge pile.  In it a tipped Christmas tree, bags of clothes and personal belongings, a couch, a dresser, different furniture, and boxes of odds and ends.  It was then that my breath caught even tighter in my throat.  There sat what looked like a fairly new bassinet draped in soft pink ruffles with this tiny pink and white knitted blanket.  The men who stood there didn’t appear to enjoy their break from the heavy lifting or even talk amongst themselves in conversation.  They each just stood there staring into the pile.  It was the most heartbreaking scene.  All I could do was say a silent prayer for this family and their new baby and hope they are able to heal from this ordeal soon.

Seeing something so sad makes me realize that while sometimes I complain about not having enough money or wanting this or that, my family is so very blessed.  We are so lucky to have each other, and our health and even all of the material things in our life.  My husband and I each have a nice car, we have a roof over our heads, that while is rented and temporary, is very much our beautiful home.  We have food in our bellies and more possessions than we need.   We are happy and we are comfortable.  I wish I could say that for everyone today.

*sigh*

6 Responses to “Eviction and hardship”


  1. December 29, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    OmGoodness! What a terrible thing to see! I will also say a prayer for this family and their new baby. This just made me bawl like a little baby. We are very lucky to have what we have. Some of us are only a paycheck or two away from this very thing though, sadly enough.

  2. 2 bigmamacass
    December 29, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    i have been there and yes, it is so sad and scary to know that you are so close to losing it all 😦

  3. 3 chuck
    December 29, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Babe – I just want you to know that I think you are wonderful, I love you, and I am sorry that you had to see the horrible side of reality today. The truth is that our life exists in a mere 6% of the entire world’s population that have financial means, wonderful family and freinds to fall back on, or some other means of avoiding such a personal disaster. In other words, about 94% of the world is either homeless, starving, or at least one paycheck away from such disaster.

    The other side of the coin is that you see poverty, yet they drive big fancy cars and watch 52-inch plasmas. So when you pray, make sure that you pray for the true needy and not the ones who perpetuate the problem. Either way, it is hard to see such a travesty but it is real and it is happening all over the US right now. Taking such things for granted is quickly becoming a thing of the past.

    On the bright side – these are the situations that bring us back to reality and quickly teach us gratitude and appreciation and community. Gives us more strength. Instills within us wisdom and leadership.

    My collegue lost everything in Katrina. He explained to me that they lost absolutely EVERYTHING. He also explained to me that his family is better for it (emotionally, spiritually, and decisively).

    Whoever said “Life isn’t easy” is a very wise person. Very good blog Babe…thanks for sharing!

  4. December 29, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    I have been there. It sucks. I want to scoop everyone up like that and make sure that they are warm and fed. Especially the kids.


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

tweeeet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my validation!

Photobucket

