20
Dec
08

Internet Love

If you had asked me 10 or 15 years ago whether or not a person could fall in love with someone they had only talked to… but never met in person, I would have said that was crazy!!

However, with the dawn of the internet age, it happens every day.  And I am not just talking about falling in love with a “mate”, I am talking about falling in love with people.  Just people whom you are lucky enough to call your friends.  It is an interesting thing to me that people whom you have never met (in person) can be so dear to you.  I have met so many people online that while I have never and may never meet them in person, I feel I have known some of them for years.  And some of them I have!  haha!  I can see their faces when they talk.  I can hear their voices.  Even if only because I am reading words they have typed on my computer screen.

They mean various things to me.  Many of them I have grown to love.  Not in an intimate or sexual, lets get married and have babies way, but in an all out I trust you, you are a fabulous, caring, there when I need you kind of friend way.  That to me is, for lack of a better word at the moment… AWESOME! Now don’t get me wrong, I have for sure found people that I would rather not know, but I guess that is bound to happen no matter where you are.  Internet or not.

I am so blessed to have such great friends in my life.  Being in Arkansas right now and away from all of my family and friends is very difficult.  If it weren’t for the internet, instant messaging and webcams, phones and text messaging (oh lord that is a whole ‘nother blog) then I would go crazy in this state!  But now I even have a slew of friends that I have met online.  Some of them I have even met in person.  Some of them I have even traveled to, to meet in person. They are amazing people!  ALL of my friends are amazing.  I am so lucky.

I used to be embarrassed about the time I spent on the internet with people I had never met face to face.  When we were in Wisconsin, I would sit overlooking the lake and play internet poker, drink beer and laugh my ass off conversing with dozens of faces I was never to see!  I would listen to my iPod at dangerous levels, many times till the wee hours of the morning!  And I had a BLAST!  And the funny thing is, I really do reflect on that time and wonder how those friends that I made at the time are doing.  I wonder if they still play online poker.  Do they still giggle at the same silly jokes that we used to?  Is that weird?  I once thought it could be, but not any more.  If you think about it, MySpace, Facebook, blogging… they are all pretty much the same thing.  Connecting people via the internet for entertainment.  We all do it.  Maybe in different ways, but we all do it.

So I feel better knowing that I am not weird.  And take pride in knowing that I have made some fantastic friends over the years.  I love that part about my life.  I didn’t even realize until recently that it was ok to be happy about that part of my life.  And that I can actually call it part of my life.  Because it is.  A big part.  And it totally rocks.  🙂

Anyone want to share any stories about their internet experiences?

8 Responses to “Internet Love”


  1. December 20, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    oh the internet. how wonderful it is. i can still remember people i met, only on line, when i was 14. my mom would sit with me as i toured through aol, from chat room to chat room. at least she was cautious (sp). she would sit and giggle with me, tell me neat things to say. i wonder, quite often actually, how those people are doing, and i look for them again. i love being able to share all of your life, out in the open, for all to see and judge..ahhhhh. well, we all do it. i am proud to say that i’ve met you!!!! i’m excited to see what you post, and get your letters in the mail. maybe one day you and jimmy can come to my little small town and tour the Big Chair city!!! =) this was a very warm and thoughtful blog. just as happy as you are to have your relationships, i know they’re all just as happy as me to have you!

    • 2 bigmamacass
      December 21, 2008 at 3:00 pm

      awww! i am proud to say that I have met you too Jenn! and i look sooooo forward to your letters! i run to the mailbox to see if I can retrieve a fun pink envelope every day! 🙂

      and i would LOVE to come and visit you with Jimmy some day! it is a date!!

      and thank you, what a WONDERFUL comment 🙂 really warmed my heart 🙂

  2. December 21, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I really love reading your blogs… I haven’t been reading any blogs lately or for quite a while, but seeing yours here today was nice 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I agree, in fact there have been many times I felt my only friends were online…. I could pour my heart out and not have backlash… or share and get compliments… so it’s cool you have experienced a lot of friendships 🙂

    I have always loved looking at your photos… they are great!!

    • 4 bigmamacass
      December 21, 2008 at 2:58 pm

      THANKS DIANA!! I hear ya… time gets away from me easy too… it is hard to catch up sometimes… and I agree… it is so easy to share and pour your heart out online… and to me it seems almost like it is easier for me to be me there… hard to explain

      and thanks about the photos! i will try to post more in the future

  3. December 21, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Well I am happy to be able to have the friends I do on the interent. I It is great to have people close to you and say what you want.. THe great thing is you can say whatever you want and really do not need to respond. But I am very fortunate to have you in my Real world too besides the internet!

  4. December 22, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Very well said! I am glad we got to know each other as well. It’s weird when i sit and think about how we met and what was to transpire afterward.

  5. 8 sethe
    June 4, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    It is better to find a friend online that actually find someone near you and then who will only take advantage of you. I have never called anyone a friend for the last 4 years.. my old friends only took advantage of me. I now have few good friends online, and that includes you girl. I believe I am better off now having people like you, than having those benefacting so called friends that i had before. Don’t you just love technology? It bridges people together. C”,)


Comments are currently closed.

Photobucket

about moi…

Hi, my name is Cass. I am married to an amazing man who loves me unconditionally. I’m a stay at home mom to a rockin’ 2 year old boy who I call Monkey. I have an 12 year old step-daughter who lives in another state. We miss her daily. We also have two fur babies, Daisy and Jazz, who keep us on our toes. They are awesome!

I am a complete goofball, a photographer and a constant out loud thinker. I am a grammar challenged, vulgar, cursing, sex obsessed Big Mama fumbling through life. Among other things, I battle PCOS causing infertility, Bi Polar, Anxiety and OCD.

Currently I am riding the fertility roller coaster in an attempt to make Monkey #2. This blog is about a little of everything. I hope you enjoy. Read at your own risk!

Photobucket

my photography page:

Photobucket

my validation!

Photobucket

